Public services
  >Port Services
Port Operation Procedures


Some documents are in PDF (Portable Document Format). Please downloadAdobe Acrobat Reader and install the Adobe Acrobat Reader to view and print them.

A. Procedure for a Vessel Entering Hong Kong Waters

No vessel is allowed to enter Hong Kong waters without the permission of the Director of Marine. Not less than 24 hours prior to entering into Hong Kong waters, the owner, his local agent, master or coxswain of the vessel shall apply in writing for permission by providing a Pre-Arrival Notification (PAN) to the Marine Department (MD). The PAN of a Convention Vessel should be provided to the Vessel Traffic Centre (VTC) of MD by fax 2858 6646 or by telex 63607 whilst the PAN of a Mainland or Macau Non-convention Vessel should be provided to VTC by fax to 2359 4264. Details are described in Marine Department Notice No. 105 of 2007 (PDF). Tankers should also submit a Tanker Arrival Notice (TAN).

B. Procedure for a Vessel Departing from Hong Kong Waters

Prior to departure, the master must obtain port clearance from the Director of Marine by providing the CMO with a completed set of documents as described in Entry and Clearance Procedures for Convention vessels( (PDF) and Entry and Clearance Procedures for Non-Convention vessels (PDF).

Not less than 15 minutes prior to departure, the master should provide the VTC on the appropriate VHF channel with information on name and call sign of vessel, location, next port, formal port clearance number, confirmation of Immigration departure clearance, etc. and seek permission for departure.

Subsequent to permission being given (which is valid for 10 minutes only), the vessel shall get underway and advise the Vessel Traffic Centre accordingly.

Emergency Port Clearance

In case a vessel without a valid port clearance requires to depart but the CMO is closed, the Port Management Office (PMO) of the Vessel Traffic Centre may be requested to process an Emergency Port Clearance.

Shipping companies or agencies should nominate their representatives to process Emergency Port Clearances and register their names with the CMO, and they should notify the CMO of any change of their representatives.

To apply for an Emergency Port Clearance, the representative should make an appointment with the PMO at 2233 7808, prepare the letter of application and the required documents, and follow the advice of the PMO.

A fee for the provision of service outside normal office hours will be charged in addition to the normal Port Clearance fee.

C. Pilotage

The Director of Marine is the Pilotage Authority in Hong Kong. Compulsory pilotage currently covers ships of 3,000 gross tonnage. Please refer to Pilotage webpage for detail.

D. Harbour Mooring Buoy

Commercial ships intending to book a government mooring may refer to the Harbour Mooring Buoys Booking and Allocation Procedures.

E. Carriage of Dangerous Goods

The owner, agents or master of an ocean-going or river-trade vessel arriving in Hong Kong waters and having on board any dangerous goods (DG) shall, not less than 48 hours before the vessel's estimated time of arrival, submit a dangerous goods manifest through the Internet, or a hard copy of it. For circumstances where for reasonable cause it is not possible to furnish such manifest in the manner and time aforesaid, a manifest shall be furnished immediately after the arrival of the vessel in the harbour. The master of the vessel shall ensure that the carriage of the dangerous goods complies with the relevant provisions of the International Maritime Dangerous Goods Code. A locally licenced vessel conveying dangerous goods shall possess a valid Declaration of Fitness for carriage of dangerous goods and be granted the relevant DG carriage permit or removal permit (for Cat. 1 DG). For more details, please visit this link: http://www.mardep.gov.hk/en/ele_services/dgis.html

F. Search and Rescue

The Maritime Rescue Co-ordination Centre (MRCC) has full communications capability for the co-ordination of search and rescue mission for ships getting into difficulty within about 1,300 kilometres of Hong Kong.

G. Port Controls by Other Government Departments

Some Government Departments are responsible for other aspects of port and harbour services control.

H. Establishment of Ship's Agent

Companies who wish to establish a Ship's Agent in Hong Kong should follow the procedures in the Guidance Notes to the Application for Provisional Registering as a Ship's Agent.

After six months in the Provisional Register, Provisional Agent may be transferred to Confirmed Agent when they have a good trading manner and handled.
  1. more than one coaster and made more than 18 trips; or
  2. more than six ocean-going vessels and made more than 12 trips.
I. Special Operating Conditions

Specific permits are required for vessels to operate under special conditions in Hong Kong waters.
1. SEA TRIAL If a vessel is to undergo sea trials, an application must be made to the CMO for a permit for this activity. (Download the application form) (PDF).

2. DEAD SHIP

(a) Definition

The term "Dead Ship" includes a vessel which is unable to proceed under its own power, or to manoeuvre with its own steering gear or to work its own anchors or has any part of the hull structure removed, or under repair which may affect the watertight integrity of the ship.

A deadship which is due to arrive in Hong Kong waters must apply for and obtain a deadship permit prior to her arrival. A vessel which is within the precincts of a dockyard is not required to be in possession of this permit but she must obtain one before leaving such precincts.

Very often a vessel in port may wish to shut down its machinery to carry out maintenance and/or repairs. A "Dead Ship" permit must be obtained by the vessel before this can be done unless the vessel is within the precincts of dockyard.

(b) Application Procedure

Agent should send request to the CMO by completing the application. (Download the application form) (PDF).

Agent should note that no cutting or hot work to take place on board a dead ship unless a valid "Repair Permit" has been obtained from the Safety Section of the Marine Department.
3. REPAIR PERMIT

Under section 40 of the Shipping and Port Control Ordinance, Cap. 313, no repair or break of vessels shall be carried out except with the written permission of the Director of Marine. Agent can apply permission for a vessel to carry out repairs at the Safety Section which located at 23rd Floor Harbour Building. (Download the application form) (PDF). The issue of Repair Permit is free of charge.

4. LAID UP VESSELS

Any vessel exceeding 50 metres in length, other than a dead ship, which remains within the waters of Hong Kong through lack of employment or pending the outcome of any legal proceedings before any court, shall obtain a quot;Laid-Up Vessel Permitquot;

Loaded or non-gas free tankers are not permitted to lay up in Hong Kong waters.

Application procedure

  1. Agents requesting a laid-up berth to lay up a vessel should complete an "Application for a Laid-up berth" obtained from Licensing and Port Formalities Section (LPF). Enquiries may be made at 2667 6931.
  2. Completed application should be forwarded to LPF for processing. Upon approval, LPF will return the "Process and Result of Application for Laid-up Berth" back to the agents.
  3. On receipt of a copy of "Process and Result of Application" indicating approval and a letter application from the agent, a Permit for Laid-up Vessel will be issued. The Permit is valid for 7 days and a fresh application should be submitted by the agent for renewal.
J. Minimum Safe Manning Level on Ships while in Waters of Hong Kong

Regulation 26(1) of the Shipping and Port Control Regulations, Chapter 313A states that a ship shall, while within the waters of Hong Kong, have on board at all times such number of crew as is, in the opinion of the Director of Marine, qualified and capable of carrying out all duties which may reasonably be required to ensure the safety of the ship having regard to the circumstances pertaining thereto.

The following table is produced to clarify “the opinion of the Director of Marine”:-

Table of Minimum Safe Manning Level

Condition of Vessel XO XO or CO DO CE EO MSML Ratings Remarks
Vessel Underway* 1   2 1 2 3/4 Under all conditions
Vessel Not Underway:

at anchor or mooring buoy

made fast to shore


when tropical cyclone warning issued








1


1


1


1


2








1


1


1


1/3


1/3


3/4


Except when tropical cyclone warning issued

Except when tropical cyclone warning issued
Vessel Laid Up

Vessel Laid Up :

when tropical cyclone warning issued
1



1








1
  1



1
1/3



3/4
Except when tropical cyclone warning issued

XO = Master
CO = Chief Officer
DO = Deck Officer
CE = Chief Engineer
EO = Engineer Officer
MSML = Minimum Safe Manning Level

*Alternatively, in accordance with the manning level as shown on the Minimum Safe Manning Certificate (MSMC) when vessel underway.

In complying with the Table of MSML above, it should be noted that the requirements relating to Masters, Deck Officers and Engineer Officers are shown as actual numbers. The requirements for MSML Rating, however, are shown as a fraction to be applied to the total number of Deck and Engine Ratings shown on the ship’s MSMC, if carried, or to the total number of Deck and Engine Ratings on board on ship's arrival in Hong Kong. Where number of Ratings so obtained is not a whole number, it shall be rounded up to the next whole number.

The minimum safe manning levels contained in the Table above may be varied by the Director of Marine either on a written application made to him, or on his own initiative, following due consideration of any special conditions or circumstances which may attach to a particular vessel or class of vessel.

公共服务
  >港口服务
港口运作手续

下载Adobe Acrobat Reader及安装Adobe Acrobat Reader软件观看和打印PDF (Portable Document Format)格式文件。


A. 船只进入香港水域手续

如未获海事处处长允许,任何船只均不可进入香港水域。船只的拥有人或其本地代理人或船长须在该船只进入香港水域前不少于24小时向海事处以书面提供到达前知会申请允许。公约船只的到达前知会须以图文传真(2858 6646) 或电邮 pmovtc1@mardep.gov.hk 提交到海事处船只航行监察中心(航监中心),而 国内或澳门非公约船只的到达前知会访港游艇/游乐船只 (DOC) 则须以图文传真(2359 4264) 或电邮 pmovtc1@mardep.gov.hk 提交到航监中心。详情请参阅海事处布告2007年第105号。油轮必须提交油轮到达通知

B. 船只离开香港水域手续

船长须在船只离开香港之前,把-登在公约船舶出入口手续 (PDF) 非公约船舶(包括本地领牌船只、内河/沿海/澳门船只和访港游艇 (PDF) 及 访港游艇/游乐船只 (PDF) 出入口手续内的全部文件交到中区海事分处向海事处处长申请出港证。

船长须在船只开始开出前不少于15分钟的时间,以该船只现时在该水域内所处的甚高频区段适用的甚高频频道,向船只航行监察中心提供船只名称、呼叫信号、现时的位置、下一个港口名称、出港证编号、确认入境事务处出港证明等资料,并申请开出。

取得开出允许后(有效时间为10分钟),船只须进入在航状态并通知船只航行监察中心。

紧急出港证

如果船只并无有效出港证但急须离港,却适逢中区海事分处休息,船只航行监察中心辖下的港务室可处理紧急出港证的申请。

船公司或其代理必须预先提名代表人以办理紧急出港证,并须向中区海事分处登记代表人姓名。代表人如有更改,必须通知中区海事分处。

申请紧急出港证时,代表人必须致电港务室(电话:2233 7808)预约,并须备妥申请书和所需文件,以及按照港务室的指示办理手续。

申请紧急出港证除须如常缴付出港证费用外,另须缴付办公时间以外服务费。

C. 领港

在香港,海事处处长是领港事务监督。强制领港涵盖总注册吨位超过3 000吨的船舶。详情请参阅领港网页。

D. 港口系泊浮泡

商用船只如欲租用政府系泊浮泡,可参阅港口系泊浮泡预订及分派手续.

E. 运载危险品

远洋或内河船舶的船东、代理人或船长,如拟用其船只运载危险品进入香港水域,须在船只预计抵达时间不少于 48 小时前,利用互联网或直接向本处提交“危险货物舱单”, 但如因合理因由而未能按上述方式及时间提交该舱单,则须在船只抵港后立即提交 。船长须确保危险品的装载附合“国际海运危险货物规则”内的相关规则。本地牌照船舶运载任何危险品,须持有有效的“船只适合于运载危险品的声明”及申请合适的“运载许可证”或“移走许可证 ”( 如属第一类危险品 ) 。如欲参阅更多资料,请浏览以下网址:http://www.mardep.gov.hk/sc/ele_services/dgis.html.

F. 至 I3. 的资料暂只载于英文网页

I4. 闲置船只

任何长度超过50米的船只(废船除外)如因没有被使用或因等候在任何法庭席前进行的任何法律程序的结果而停留于香港水域内,便须领取"闲置船只许可证"。

载货或未除气的油船不准在香港水域内闲置。

申请手续

  1. 为船只申请闲置泊位的代理人须填妥牌照及关务组提供的“申请闲置泊位”表格。如有查询,请联络牌照及关务组(电话号码:2667 6931)。
  2. 填妥的申请表须提交牌照及关务组审批,申请一经批准,代理人会获发“闲置泊位申请审批结果”。
  3. 海事处收到代理人所提交证实申请获批准的“闲置泊位申请审批结果”和申请书后,便会发出闲置船只许可证。许可证的有效期为七天,代理人其后须再续证。

J. 船只在香港水域内的最低安全人手编配水平

《船舶及港口管制规例》(第 313 章,附属法例 A )第 26(1) 条规定,任何船当处于香港水域内时,须于船上时刻载有人数足够而海事处处长认为是既有资格亦有能力执行下述所有职责的船员,而该等职责指在顾及当时的情况后乃属确保该船的安全而合理所需的。

下表旨在澄清“海事处处长认为”的定义:

最低安全人手 编配水平表

船只状况 船长 船长
或大副
甲板 高级船员 轮机长 轮机员 普通船员 最低安全人手编配水平 备注
在航船只* 1   2 1 2 3/4 所有情况下均适用
非在航船只:

锚泊或系泊浮泡


泊于岸边


热带气旋警告发出后








1


1


1


1


2








1


1


1


1/3


1/3


3/4


热带气旋警告发出后除外


热带气旋警告发出后除外

闲置船只

闲置船只:

热带气旋警告发出后
1



1








1
  1



1
1/3



3/4
热带气旋警告发出后除外

* 又或是最低安全人手编配证明书(MSMC)所载的在航人手编配水平。

遵行上述最低安全人手编配水平表时须注意,有关船长、甲板高级船员和轮机人员的规定,是以实际数目表示;有关普通船员最低安全人手编配水平的规定,则以份数表示。计算普通船员最低安全人手实际数目时,应以该份数乘以船上备存的最低安全人手编配证明书(如有的话)所载甲板与机房普通船员的总人数,又或乘以该船抵达香港时船上甲板与机房普通船员的总人数。如果得出的数目并非整数,则须调高至下一个整数。

海事处处长在适当考虑某船或某类船只的特殊情况或环境后,可自行或因应该船/该类船只的书面申请,更改上表所载的最低安全人手编配水平。