Public services
  >Procedures of Application for Approval of Weighing Equipment for Gross Mass Verification of a Container Carrying Cargo by Method 1
Procedures of Application for approval of Weighing Equipment for Gross Mass Verification of a Container Carrying Cargo by Method 1

The weighing equipment operator in Hong Kong who is interested in obtaining Marine Department’s approval shall submit the required application materials as follows:-

Application Materials Required

  1. Completed application form of weighing equipment approval. The application form can be downloaded here;
  2. Copy of Hong Kong Business Registration Certificate of weighing equipment operator;
  3. Photos of the weighing equipment which will be used for weighing service; and
  4. Calibration proof of weighing equipment from the calibration done not more than 12 months (including tolerance report). The testing weight applied should be gradually increased to 50,000 kg. The proof should be issued by Registered Professional Engineer (Mechanical or Marine and Naval Architecture discipline).
  5. Calibration of Weighing Equipment

  1. Calibration of weighing equipment has to be carried out in the presence of Registered Professional Engineer.
  2. Standard or certified weights have to be used in the calibration. Measurement should be taken for comparison at intervals of 2,000 kg till the approved weighing capacity is reached.
  3. When calibration has exceeded half the approved weighing capacity and the calibration result is favourable (weight deviation of all measurements not more than +/- 50 kg), the equipment can be used to prove the weight of any load falls in the calibrated range. Such load can be used as proved weight for using in the remaining calibration.
  4. Any calibration result in doubt, Marine Department has the right to request the calibration to be re-done at requirement specified.

Fee

The entire application, approval, result publication and compliance inspection are free of charge.

Submission

Please submit the application materials to the following address:

Marine Industrial Safety Section
Marine Department
Room 2315, 23/F, Harbour Building
38 Pier Road, Central
Hong Kong

Any fraudulent or concealed reporting on the information of weighing equipment with intention to obtain approval is an offence. Marine Department will initiate prosecution and revoke the approval once confirmed.

Application Result

The processing time depends on the circumstances of individual applications and the number of applications received at a particular time. If necessary, inspection on the weighing equipment and relevant weighing records will be performed to ensure its normal operation. If the application is successful, the company name of the applicant, address and the details of weighing equipment such as maker, model, serial number, type, etc. will be published in the Marine Department’s webpage for public access.

Maintenance of approval

Annual Calibration

The weighing equipment operator is required to schedule at least one calibration for the approved weighing equipments within 12 months of the previous calibration. The calibration proof shall be issued by Registered Professional Engineer (Mechanical or Marine and Naval Architecture discipline). Weighing equipment operator should arrange the calibration to be done promptly on or before the expiry date of the approval. The validity of approval can be found in the list of approved weighing equipment posted in the website of Marine Department. Any weighing beyond the expiry of approval will not be recognized.

Once the calibration is done, weighing equipment operator should inform Marine Department via email (or fax) and the calibration proof (issued by Registered Professional Engineer) is submitted (via email or post) no later than 7 calendar days. Any late calibration or submission could render the withdrawal of approval.

Marine Department must be informed immediately of following:

  1. Discontinuation of service.
  2. Relocation of weighing equipment
    (Re-calibration of weighing equipment after relocation is required.)
  3. Replacement of critical components of weighing equipment (e.g. weight measuring and indication device)
    (Re-application for approval is required.)
  4. Severe damage of weighing equipment
    (Re-calibration of weighing equipment after repair is required.)
  5. Change of weighing equipment operator
    (Re-application for approval is required.)

Report channel:

Email: miss@mardep.gov.hk
Fax: 2543 7209

以方法一验证已装填货柜的总重量 ─ 秤重设备认可的申请程序

凡本地秤重公司有意取得本处的秤重设备认可,须提交以下申请资料予本处。

所需的申请资料

  1. 填妥的秤重设备认可申请表,申请表可在此处下载;
  2. 秤重公司的商业登记证副本;
  3. 将会用作秤重工作的秤重设备照片;
  4. 过去一年内的秤重设备较准证明(包括详细的误差报告),较准所使用的测试重量须逐步递增至50,000千克,较准证明书须由注册专业工程师(机械或轮机暨造船学界别)签发。

秤重设备的校准

  1. 秤重设备的校准须在注册专业工程师见证下进行。
  2. 校准时,须使用标准或认证的磅码作为重量的比较基准。每2,000千克的重量间距,应进行一次校准的比较,直至达到最大的认可秤重量为止。
  3. 在校准进行至超越秤重设备的最大的认可秤重量的一半时,而校准的结果又良好(校准读数的误差不超过 +/- 50 千克)时,秤重设备可用来验证重量处于已校准范围内的荷载物。而该验证后的荷载物可作为一验证的重量,使用于剩下的校准工作中。
  4. 海事处若对任何校准结果有所怀疑,可要求该等校准按特定指示重做。

费用

整项申请、批准、网上发放资料及合规检查并不收费。

提交申请

请把所需资料送交以下地址:

香港中环统一码头道38号
海港政府大楼23楼2315室
海事处海事工业安全组

任何虚报或瞒报秤重设备的资料,意图取得本处的认可,乃违法行为,一旦确认,本处将作出检控并撤销相关认可。

申请结果

处理申请所需的时间会视乎于每宗申请的个别情况及本处当前收到的申请数目。如有需要,本处会进行秤重设备及秤重文件的检查以确保正常操作。若申请成功,申请公司的名称、地址和秤重设备的详细资料如制造商、型号、编号、类型等将于海事处网页内公布以供公众查阅。

认可资格的维护

年度校准

秤重公司须为已被认可的秤重设备由对上一次的较准日期起计的12个月内进行较准最少一次,证明书须由注册专业工程师(机械或轮机暨造船学界别) 签发。秤重公司应在认可期限到期日或之前安排秤重设备的校准。秤重设备的认可期限可在海事处网页上的认可秤重设备列表中找到。海事处不会承认任何认可期限后进行的秤重。

校准完成后,秤重公司应立即利用电邮(或传真)通知海事处,而证明书(由注册专业工程师发出的) 亦须在7天内经电邮或邮递提交给海事处。任何延误的校准或文件的递交可导致认可被取消。

以下的情况必须立即知会海事处:

  1. 终止秤重服务。
  2. 迁移秤重设备
    (迁移后,需进行再校准。)
  3. 更换秤重设备主要部件(如重量量度及显示仪)
    (需重新申请批核。)
  4. 秤重设备严重损毁
    (修理后,需进行再校准。)
  5. 秤重设备营运者的变更
    (需重新申请批核。)

通报渠道:

电邮:vgm@mardep.gov.hk
传真:2543 7209