Public services
  >Port Services
Freight Containers (Safety) Ordinance, Cap 506
Cargo HandlingCargo HandlingCargo HandlingCargo Handling


1. The Freight Containers (Safety) Ordinance, Cap 506, and its four pieces of subsidiary legislations (i.e., the Freight Containers (Safety) (Applications for Approval of Containers) Regulation, Freight Containers (Safety) (Fees) Regulation, Freight Containers (Safety) (Arrangements for Authorized Persons) Order and Freight Containers (Safety) (Examination Procedure) Order) were enacted respectively in May 1997 and May 2001 for the purpose of implementing the "International Convention for Safe Containers, 1972" in Hong Kong. The Convention was adopted by the International Maritime Organization to standardize the requirements for testing, inspection and approval of containers, and to prescribe procedures for their maintenance, examination and control so as to ensure safety in their handling, stacking and transportation. The Ordinance has been further amended and enacted in June 2006 and it has come into force together with its four pieces of subsidiary legislations on 10 November 2006.

2. Under the Ordinance, the owner of a freight container has the duty that his container has valid approval with a valid 'Safety Approval Plate' fixed on it and the maximum operating gross weight marked on it, and is properly maintained and periodically examined. In a case where there is an express term of a bailment or lease of a container, the bailee or lessee of the container is responsible for the above-mentioned duties.

3. The Ordinance also requires owners, bailees or lessees of freight containers used as transport equipment ( see definition below) of cargoes or for use or supplied for use in Hong Kong to comply with the statutory requirements of this Ordinance. Some salient points of the Ordinance requirements are given below for quick information and reference.

Definition of Cargo, Freight Container or Swap Body (s.2 of the Ordinance)

"cargo" means any goods, wares, merchandise and articles of any kind carried in a container;

“container” and “freight container” means an article of transport equipment which is :-
(a) of a permanent character and accordingly strong enough for repeated use;

(b) designed to facilitate the transport of cargo by one or more modes of transport, without intermediate reloading;

(c) designed to be secured or readily handled or both, having corner fittings for these purposes; and

(d) of a size such that the area enclosed by the outer bottom corners is either:-
(i) at least 7 square metres if the container is fitted with top corner fittings; or

(ii) at least 14 square metres in any other case,
whether or not it is being carried on a chassis, but excluding any vehicle or packaging being used in conjunction with the article.

"swap body" means a container which is specially designed for carriage by road only or by rail and road only and is without stacking capability and top lift facilities;

Application (s.3 of the Ordinance)

1. Except as provided in the subsection below, the Ordinance applies in relation to any container in use or supplied for use and which is in Hong Kong.

2. This Ordinance does not apply in relation to-
(a) a container designed solely for use in air transport;

(b) a swap body, except when it is carried by or on board a sea-going ship and is not mounted on a road vehicle or rail wagon.
Conditions of Use of A Freight Container (s. 4 of the Ordinance)

The owner or a bailee or lessee of a container shall not use or permit the container to be used unless following conditions are complied with. The main provisions for conditions of use of a freight container are summarized as follows:-
(a) Container must have valid approval. This approval may be issued by a government of a country which has ratified, accepted, approved or acceded to the Convention or a government of a place to which the Convention applies ( refers to s.5 to s.9 of the Ordinance);

(b) A Safety Approval Plate must have fixed to the container that has valid approval.

(c) Container must have been properly maintained in a safe condition;

(d) Container must be examined in accordance with an examination procedure prescribed or approved by the government of a country which has ratified, accepted, approved or acceded to the Convention or a government of a place to which the Convention applies;
Approval of Containers etc. (s. 5, s.6 and s.10 of the Ordinance and Cap 506A)

1. The Government of Hong Kong Special Administration Region is one of the contracting parties which have ratified the Convention. Any person wishing to obtain approval of the use of containers in Hong Kong may in writing apply to the following authorized persons (Authorized persons are appointed by the Director) to approve the individual containers and the design type of containers and their subsequent examinations and certification etc. in accordance with s.5, s.6 and Schedule 1 of the Ordinance and Cap 506A.

2. An individual or prototype container is to be examined and tested as to the structural safety requirements and test standards specified in Schedule 1 and Cap 506A of the Ordinance before the individual or container design type can be approved by the "authorized person". The authorized person should witness the structural tests of the container including lifting test, stacking test, concentrated loads test, transverse racking test, longitudinal restraint static test, end walls and side wall tests. Relevant certificates and records are to be issued and kept by the concerned authorized persons for their works and duties discharged under the Ordinance.

3. A safety approval plate as per s.10 shall be fixed to any container that has valid approval as per s. 5 to s.9 of the Ordinance and is marked in accordance with Schedule 2 of the Ordinance.

Authorized Persons and their functions (s.5(5) and s.6(7) of the Ordinance and Cap 506C)

1. The s.5(5) and s.6(7) of the Ordinance empowers the Director to appoint classification societies as "authorized persons" to carry out the functions of the approval of containers of an individual type or a design type. Various functions and duties of an authorized person are indicated in s.4 and s.5 of Cap 506C.

2. The following classification societies have been appointed as "authorized persons" by the Director. This "authorized persons" list will be updated from time to time.
  • Bureau Veritas

  • China Classification Society

  • Korean Register of Shipping

  • RINA S.p.A.

(Authorization continued till 30.06.2022)

Maintenance of Containers (s.11 of the Ordinance )

A container is properly maintained if it is maintained in a safe condition. For that purpose, a container shall be deemed not be in a safe condition unless it is in an efficient state, in efficient working order and in good repair.

Examination Procedure of a Container (s. 12 and s.13 of the Ordinance and Cap 506D)

1. Every approved container must have an examination procedure approved by a government of a country which has ratified, accepted, approved or acceded to the Convention or a government of a place to which the Convention applies. As the Government of Hong Kong Special Administration Region is one of the contracting parties which has ratified the Convention, the owner or, the bailee or lessee who is entrusted with the responsibility of a container in the express term of a bailment or lease, may in writing apply to the Director for approval of the examination procedure.

2. Any application to the Director for approval of a proposed examination procedure in relation to containers shall contain or be accompanied by the following information and documents:-
(a) name and address of the applicant, and name of the contact person and his telephone number or email address;

(b) particulars of the owner, if he is not the applicant, of the containers;

(c) name of the authority which approved the design type corresponding to the containers and approval reference;

(d) date and place of manufacture, identification number and type of the containers;

(e) required qualifications, training and relevant experience of the 'competent person' to be appointed to carry out the examination;

(f) the manner of carrying out examination, matters to be examined and procedure of examination, matters to be determined by the competent person at the conclusion of examination, duties of the applicant and the competent person if defects in a container are found, records to be kept, and all other reasonable details of the examination procedure. Any checklist and proposed format of examination reports have also to be included; and

(g) any further information or document that the Director may consider necessary to determine the application.
3. The application with the aforementioned information and documents together with the appropriate fess prescribed under the Freight Containers (Safety)(Fees) Regulation (Cap 506 sub leg) shall be submitted to the Director of Marine at Marine Industrial Safety Section, Hong Kong Marine Department, 23/F., Harbour Building, 38 Pier Road, Central, Hong Kong.

Inspection and Control of Containers (s.14 to s.16 of the Ordinance)

If a container which has no safety approval plate or which has an incorrectly completed plate or a container displaying an examination date that has passed or an unsafe container is found, Director may by notice prohibit the use of the containers or its detention.

《运货货柜(安全)条例》(第506章)及其附属法例

船上货物处理船上货物处理船上货物处理船上货物处理

1. 为使《 1972 年国际集装箱安全公约》得以在香港实施,政府于 1997 年 5 月制订 《运货货柜(安全)条例》 (该条例)(第 506 章),另于 2001 年 5 月制订四条附属法例(即《运货货柜(安全)(要求批准货柜的申请)规例》、《运货货柜(安全)(费用)规例》、《运货货柜(安全)(关于获授权人的安排)令》和《运货货柜(安全)(检验程序)令》)。《 1972 年国际集装箱安全公约》获国际海事组织通过,旨在统一测试、检查和批准货柜的标准,以及订明货柜维修、检验和控制的程序,藉此确保搬运、堆垛或运输货柜时的安全。 该条例于2006 年6 月再经修订并获制定通并己在2006 年 11 月 10 日 连同其四条附属法例一起生效 。

2. 根据该条例,运货货柜拥有人有责任确保其货柜获有效批准和已有有效的安全合格牌照固定装设在其上、以及有适当地显示最大操作总重量的标记,和经妥善保养及定期检验,。如货柜的委托保管或租约有明订条款,受托保管人或承租人便须承担上述责任。

3. 该条例也规定运货货柜拥有人、受托保管人或承租人在香港把运货货柜用作货物的运输设备(见下文定义),或使用运货货柜,又或供应运货货柜作使用时,须遵从有关法定规定。

货物、运货货柜或互换车体的定义(条例第2条)

“货物”(cargo)指货柜所载任何类别的货品、货物、商品和物品;

“货柜”(container)及“运货货柜”(freight container)指符合以下说明的运输设备物品:

(a) 属永久性,因而有足够强度以供重复使用;

(b) 设计上利便采用一种或多于一种运输模式以运输货物,而货物在中转时,无须重新装卸;

(c) 设计为被稳固或易于被搬运,或兼为该两项目的而设计,并为该等目的而设有夹角接头;及

(d) (i) 如该货柜装有顶部夹角接头,其外底角所围绕的面积最小须为7平方米;或
  (ii) 如属其他情况,其外底角所围绕的面积最小须为14平方米,

不论是否用底盘车运载,但不包括与该物品连同使用的任何车辆或包装。

“互换车体”(swap body)指特别设计只供道路运输或只供铁路和道路运输而无可堆垛性及顶吊设施的货柜。

适用范围(条例第3条)

1. 除以下条款另有规定外,该条例适用于任何在香港使用中或供应作使用的货柜。

2. 该条例不适用于以下货柜:

(a) 设计只供作航空运输使用的货柜;

(b)互换车体,但由海域航行船舶运载或载于海域航行船舶上而没有装上道路车辆或铁路列车的互换车体,则属例外。

运货货柜的使用条件(条例第4条)

除非已遵守下述条件否则该货柜的拥有人、受托保管人或承租人不得使用或准许使用该货柜。 运货货柜使用条件的主要规定概述如下:

(a) 货柜必须获得有效批准,该批准可由已追认、承认、认可或加入公约的某国家政府,或实施公约的某地方政府发出 (参照条例第5条至第9条);

(b) 安全合格牌照必须已固定装设在获得有效批准的货柜上;

(c) 货柜必须经妥善保养并处于安全状况;以及

(d) 货柜必须按照已追认、承认、认可或加入公约的某国家政府,或实施公约的某地方政府所订明或批准的检验程序检验。

货柜的批准(条例第5条和第6条及第506A章)

1. 香港特别行政区政府为已追认公约的缔约方。任何人如欲在香港取得货柜的批准,可向以下获授权人提出书面申请,(获授权人由处长委任)该等获授权人将于据条例第5条、第6条和附表1及第506A章所指要求批准个别货柜或货柜定型设计,及其后的测试及发证等。

2. 个别或原型货柜须通过该条例附表1及第506A章所指明关乎结构安全规定及测试标准的检验和测试,“获授权人”才会批准该货柜的个别批准或定型设计批准。获授权人须亲自监核货柜的结构测试,包括举吊测试、堆垛测试、集中荷载测试、横向推拉测试、纵向限制静力测试、端壁测试和侧壁测试。有关证书和记录会由相关获授权人发出和备存,以便执行该条例所订的工作和职责。

3. 安全合格牌照须固定装设在任何已按照条例第5至9条获发给有效批准的货柜上,以及按条例照附表2的规定在该牌照上标记。

获授权人及其职能(条例第5(5)条和第6(7)条及第506C章)

1. 该条例第5(5)条及第6(7)条赋权处长委任船级社为“获授权人”,以执行就个别货柜或原型货柜发出批准的职能。获授权人的各种职能和责任载于第506C章的第4条及第5条。

2. 以下船级社已经由处长委任为 “获授权人”。“获授权人”名单会不时更新。

(授权延续至 30.06.2022)

货柜的保养(条例第11条)

任何货柜如获得保养而得以处于安全状况,即为获得妥善保养。就此而言,除非任何货柜是处于有效率的状况、有效率操作状态和维修良好,否则该货柜不得当作是处于安全状况。

货柜检验程序(条例第12和13条及第506D章)

1. 每个批准货柜均须有一套经已追认、承认、认可或加入公约的某国政府或实施公约的某地政府批准的检验程序。由于香港特别行政区政府是已追认公约的缔约方,因此,只要货柜的委托保管或租约有明订条款,订明货柜的拥有人或受托保管人或承租人须对货柜负责,有关拥有人或受托保管人或承租人便可向处长提出书面申请,要求批准检验程序。

2. 凡向处长申请批准货柜的建议检验程序者,其申请须载有以下资料,并夹附以下文件:

(a) 申请人的名称和地址、联络人姓名及其电话号码或电邮地址;

(b) 货柜拥有人(若非申请人)的资料;

(c) 批准货柜定型设计的当局名称;

(d) 货柜的制造日期和地点、识别号码和种类;

(e) 获委任进行检验的“合资格人士”的所需资格、训练和相关经验;

(f) 检验方式、予以检验的事项及检验程序、合资格人士在完成检验后须决定的事宜、申请人和合资格人士的职责(若发现货柜有欠妥之处)、须备存的记录和有关检验程序的所有其他合理资料;另须包括任何核对清单和建议的检验报告格式;以及

(g) 处长认为须用以决定申请的任何进一步资料或文件。

3. 附上述资料和文件的申请书须连同《运货货柜(安全)(费用)规例》(第506章,附属法例)所订明的费用送交海事处处长(地址:香港中环统一码头道38号海港政府大楼23楼海事处海事工业安全组)。

货柜的检查及管制 (条例第14条至第16条)

任何货柜如被发现没有安全合格牌照或牌照不完整,或展示已逾期的检验日期的货柜或是不安全的货柜,处长可通知而禁止该货柜的使用或扣留该货柜。