Public services
  >Port Services
A brief on Works Regulation under Cap 313 Sub Leg X
Cargo Handling
Cargo Handling


Shipping and Port Control (Works) Regulation (Cap 313 Sub Leg X)


Background

1. The Shipping and Port Control (Cargo Handling) Regulations (Cap 313B) was enacted in 1978 for the purpose of implementing the "Protection against Accidents (Dockers) Convention (Revised), 1932" adopted by the International Labour Organization. However, the accident statistics in the past years has revealed that the occupational safety protection to workers engaged in marine industrial activities is inadequate.

2. To improve the safety of workers, the Shipping and Port Control (Works) Regulation (Cap 313 X) and Merchant Shipping (Local Vessels) (Works) Regulation (Cap 548 I) and relevant amendments of the Ordinances were drafted after consultation and published in the Gazette in October 2006. The (Works) Regulation under Cap 313 X is mainly for the purpose of regulating and controlling solely the ocean-going vessels when they are in Port of Hong Kong. The previous Shipping and Port Control (Cargo Handling) Regulations (Cap 313B) were repealed when the new (Works) Regulations has come in to operation on 2 January 2007.

Current Status

3. The afore-mentioned new Shipping and Port Control Ordinance, (Cap 313) and one of its subsidiary legislation, i.e. the (Works) Regulation (Cap 313 X)are in force, the major changes or improvements of which are set out below
a) The repairing and breaking of vessels and marine construction in which vessels are used have also been brought under the ambit of the Regulation; (Please refer to all sections except Part 5 of the (Works) Regulation, Cap 313 X)

b) The requirements for safe means of access to and from and on board a vessel have been enhanced ; (Please refer to s 4 of the (Works) Regulation, Cap 313 X)

c) Lifting appliances are subject to the requirement for annual thorough examination and periodical test and examination, at least, once in every 5 years for ocean-going vessels (as required under the International Labour Organization Convention C152) and, requirement for issue of appropriate certificates in specified forms by the competent examiners; (Please refer to s. 30,31 and 39 of the (Works) Regulation, Cap 313 X)

d) The qualifications of a competent examiner for lifting appliance have been clearly specified to include registered professional engineers and classification societies (Please refer to s.2 of (Works) Regulation, Cap 313 X). The list has published in the Marine Department Notice or in this web-page;

e) The mandatory safety training courses (including the Shipboard Cargo Handling Basic Safety Training Course, Shipboard Crane Operator Safety Training Course and Works Supervisor Safety Training Course) for workers engaged in marine industrial activities on vessels have been specified. Director of Marine has been empowered to approve the training and certificate-issuing authorities, and recognized other safety related training certificates; (Please refer to s45,50,53,69 of the (Works) Regulation, Cap 313 X)

f) The occupational safety requirements (e.g. appointment of works supervisors, provision and use of protective clothing and equipment, maintenance of first aid equipment, etc.) have been prescribed; (Please refer to s18, 21, 22 of the (Works) Regulation, Cap 313 X)

g) Measures shall, in so far as reasonably practicable, be taken to ensure the safety of a person employed at work and there shall be provided such information, instruction, training or supervision as may be necessary to ensure, in so far as reasonably practicable, the safety of a person employed at work; (Please refer to s23 of the (Works) Regulation, Cap 313 X)

h) If a person employed has to carry out cargo handling on the top of a stack of containers on a vessel, there shall be provided safe means of access to and from the top of the stack for use by that person, and reasonable measures shall be taken to ensure that a person employed does not work on the top of a container unless adequate precautions have been taken to prevent such a person from falling from the container. (Please refer to s60 of Cap 313 of the (Works) Regulation, Cap 313 X)

i) For the purpose of providing practical guidance in respect of some of the provisions of the Regulation, the Director of Marine has issued relevant codes of practice.
Enquiries

4.For enquiries, please contact the Marine Industrial Safety Section or at telephone number 2852 4477. Relevant information or details concerning the Regulation or Ordinance can also be found on or downloaded from Marine Department , Marine Industrial Safety website.

(工程)规例(附属法例第313 X章) 的概要

船上货物处理船上货物处理
《船舶及港口管制(工程)规例》 (第313 X章)

背景简介

1. 为使国际劳工组织于1932年修订的《船舶装卸作业中防止工人工伤事故公约》得以在香港实施,我们在1978年制订了《船舶及港口管制(货物处理)规例》。惟过去多年的意外统计显示,(货物处理)规例对从事海上工业活动工人的职业安全保护并不足够。

2. 为此我们经谘询后草拟了《船舶及港口管制(工程)规例》(第313 X章) 及《商船(本地船只)(工程)规例》(第548 I章),并在2006年10月颁布该等规例以提高工人的安全标准。第313 X章的(工程)规例主要是监管远洋轮船在香港水域内进行的工程。新(工程)规例已于2007年1月2日生效,上述的《船舶及港口管制(货物处理)规例》亦同时已被废除。

目前情况

3. 上述新制订的《船舶及港口管制条例》 (第313 章)及其附属法例的第313 X章(工程)规例已正式生效,作出改善的主要地方如下:

a) 把修理和拆卸船只,以及使用船只进行的海上建造工程纳入该等规例的管制范围;(请参阅 第313 X章的(工程)规例全部条例除了第5部份)

b) 加强通往及离开船只,以及在船只上的安全通道的规定;(请参阅 第313 X章 (工程)规例的第4条)

c) 任何起重装置须定期进行测试及检验,在远洋船只上的起重装置须每年进行一次彻底检验及每五年最少进行一次测试和检验(正如国际劳工组织公约C152所规定的);(请参阅 第313 X章(工程)规例的第30, 31条)

d) 清楚订明起重设备的合资格检验员必须具备的资格包括注册专业工程师及船级社;(请参阅 第313 X章(工程)规例的第2条)

e)订明在船只上进行海上工业活动的工人必须强制参加安全训练课程(包括船上货物处理基础安全训练课程、船上起重机操作员安全训练课程和工程督导员安全训练课程),并赋权海事处处长批准提供训练和签发证明书的机构,以及认可的其他关乎安全训练的证明书; (请参阅第313 X章(工程)规例的第45, 50, 53, 69条)

f) 订明职业安全的规定(例如委任工程督导员、提供和穿戴防护衣物及装备、备有急救设备等);(请参阅第313 X章(工程)规例的第18, 21, 22条)

g) 订明在合理切实可行的范围内,须采取措施以确保受雇人在工作过程中的安全,以及须提供为在合理切实可行的范围内确保受雇人在工作过程中的安全而需要的资料、指示、训练或监督;及 (请参阅; 第313 X章(工程)规例的第23条)

h)订明如任何受雇人须在船只上堆叠的货柜顶进行货物处理,则须提供安全通道以供该人用以往返该等堆叠的货柜顶,以及除非已采取足够的预防措施防止受雇人从货柜堕下,否则须采取合理措施以确保受雇人不在该货柜顶工作。(请参阅 第313 X章(工程)规例的第60条)

i)为就该等规例的某些规定而提供实务指引,海事处处长已发出相关的工作守则。

查询

4.如有查询,可致电海事工业安全组,电话号码2852 4477。关于该等规例的详细资料,可在海事处海事工业的网页内下载。