Training and Development
  >Sea-going Training Incentive Scheme
Sea-going Training Incentive Scheme
Please download the Adobe Acrobat Reader and install the Adobe Acrobat Reader to view and print PDF file.

1. The Sea-going Training Incentive Scheme aims to encourage Hong Kong youngsters to take on and complete sea-going training with a view to developing their future careers in the port and maritime support industries.

2. The incentive will be awarded to successful applicants on a first-come-first-served basis, subject to the availability of fund.

3. When the Scheme is over-subscribed, the date on which the application is received by the Marine Department will be used to determine eligibility.

4. The effective date of Incentive Phase 1 is 1st April, 2004.

5. The effective date of Incentive Phase 2 & Phase 3 is 1st April, 2018.

6. If the Return Date (the date returned to Hong Kong after the last of the employment agreement of the sea-going training) of applicant is before the effective date of Incentive Phase 2 & Phase 3 but who can fulfil the following criteria may also apply for Incentive Phase 2 and Phase 3:

  1. Any portion of the 12 months from the Return Date of applicant falls on/after the effective date and all the eligible criteria of Phase 2 have been fulfilled, applicant may obtain no more than 6 months of the Phase 2 incentive from the effective date to the passing date of examination, or to the last attempt of examination within the above-mentioned 12-month period.
  2. If applicant has worked on board as cadet after obtaining of CoC that fulfilled the criteria of paragraph 14 below, and any portion of the working period of his/her cadetship working period that falls on/after the effective date, applicant may obtain the Phase 3 incentive for such period after the effective date.
Application

7. The application form must be completed in BLOCK LETTERS.

8. Applications for phase 1 may be submitted in person or by post to the Seafarers’ Certification Section, Marine Department, (3rd Floor, Harbour Building, 38 Pier Road, Hong Kong) 10 working days in advance for approval before the commencement of his/her sea-going training. Application can be made by post, fax (fax no. 2541 6754) or e-mail (sasmcrt@mardep.gov.hk) together with copies of all supporting documents if the applicant is at sea. The sea-going training which started after the date of receipt of the application by the Marine Department will be considered valid. Originals of documents should not be sent by post, but should be produced to the Seafarers’ Certification Section, Marine Department within 14 working days from the date of application. Applicants who are serving cadets at sea at the time of application are allowed to submit the originals of documents within 14 working days from the date of completion of the employment agreement.

9. Application for Phase 2 and Phase 3 shall be submitted in person to the Seafarers’ Certification Section, Marine Department, (3rd Floor, Harbour Building, 38 Pier Road, Central, Hong Kong) upon their completion of required cadet on board training for examination, and before their first attempt of the Deck Officers Class 3 / Marine Engineer Officers Class 3 Examination.

Eligibility Criteria - Incentive Phase 1

10. The applicant must be a Hong Kong permanent resident.

11. The applicant must be a graduate from a maritime training institute recognized by the Marine Department and his/her qualification acquired should be of a level qualified him/her to sit for the Deck Officer Class 3 or Marine Engineer Officer Class 3 Examination held by the Marine Department.

12. Final year student of a recognized maritime training programme may also apply if he/she has already obtained an offer of employment for sea-going training by the time of submitting the application.

13. The applicant must be registered as a seafarer with the Marine Department.

14. The applicant must not have been granted double benefits i.e. other kind of financial assistance granted for the purpose of encouraging graduates from recognized maritime training institutes to take on sea-going cadetship training for the same sea-going training period.

Eligibility Criteria - Incentive Phase 2 & Phase 3

15. The applicant has been successfully enrolled for incentive Phase 1.

16. The applicant has successfully enrolled for a Deck Officers Class 3/ Marine Engineer Officers Class 3 Examination held by the Marine Department of Hong Kong and the examination will be held within 12 months from the Return Date of the applicant.

Incentive Phase 1 – Sea-going Training

17. Under the Scheme, a cadet will receive HK$6,000 per month from the Government during the individual stipulated training period which will qualify him/her to sit for the Deck Officer Class 3 / Marine Engineer Officer Class 3 Examination.  The incentive will be paid in arrears directly to the successful applicants by the Marine Department as a lump sum on completion of each employment agreement up to the maximum training period of 18 months for Deck Cadet and 12 months for Engineer Cadet.  Completion of each employment agreement has to be certified by the employer.  The cadet may also apply for the reimbursement of first examination fee after passing the examination.

18. Applicants who are serving cadets at the time of application may have already completed part of the stipulated training period, then, only those actual sea-going training which started after the date of receipt of the application by the Marine Department will be considered valid for incentive.

Incentive Phase 2 – Preparation for Examination

19. After the cadet on board training period, applicant successfully enrolled for Marine Department Deck Officer Class 3 /Marine Engineer Officer Class 3 examination that to be held within 12 months from the Return date may apply for the incentive phase 2.  Successful applicants will receive the incentive of HK$3,000 per month from the Government while they are preparing for the examination on shore for a maximum of 6 months.  The right to incentive will start to accrue from the Return Date to the passing date of examination, or the last attempt of examination within the above-mentioned 12-month period.

20. Subject to the principles set out in paragraph 19 above and depending on the timing when the applicant takes or passes the examination, incentive payment from the Return Date will be made by three installments at most.  The first two installments will be paid in the 3rd and 5th month and third installment will be paid in the 7th month or after the first attempt of the examination, whichever is later.  Depends on the continuous eligibility of applicant, each installment of incentive will be equivalent to 2 months of incentive or less in pro rata basis for any incomplete month of shorter period.

21. If an applicant sits for the examination but fails in the phase 2 incentive period, the incentive will be accrued up to the examination date.  If the applicant has successfully applied to resit the same examination within the above-mentioned 12-month period, the incentive will be accrued up to date of his last attempt of examination within the 12-month period, but will not exceed 6 months in total.

22. Applicants are required to sit for the Deck Officers Class 3 / Marine Engineer Officers Class 3 Examination within 12 months from the Return Date.  The time limit for applicants who can produce reasonable proof that failure to attend was unavoidable and the reasons have been accepted by Marine Department for deferral of examination may be extended until the last examination date of the next round of examination.  If an applicant fails to attend the examination within the above 12-month period without such reasonable proof, he/she will be required to pay back the Government all incentives already disbursed to him/her in this phase.

Incentive Phase 3 – working on board as cadet after obtaining of CoC

23. After the applicant has successfully passed the Deck Officers Class 3 / Marine Engineer Officers Class 3 Examination and obtained a Class 3 Deck Officer/Marine Engineer Officer Class 3 Certificate of Competency from Hong Kong Marine Department, the applicant will receive an incentive payment of HK$6,000 per month from the Government in arrears as a lump sum on completion of each employment agreement up to a maximum of 6 months if he/she works in a sea-going ship as a Deck Cadet or Engineer Cadet of the same discipline of his/her Certificate of Competency.

Qualifying Sea Service

24. Qualifying sea services of phase 1 must be performed as cadet in either deck or engine department in accordance with his/her discipline.

25. Qualifying sea services of phase 3 must be performed as cadet in either deck or engine department of the same discipline of applicant’s Certificate of Competency in a sea-going ship after the applicant obtains a valid Deck Officer Class 3 / Marine Engineer Officer Class 3 Certificate of Competency from Marine Department.  The applicant must have never been employed as an officer of sea-going ships.

26. Applicant must prove their sea service by providing the Seafarer’s Employment Registration Book and written confirmation from their employer for verification.  In the case of service performed in ships that are foreign ships where Seafarer’s Employment Registration Book records cannot be provided, it is acceptable for the applicant to provide a written confirmation by the Master of the ships concerned, or by the Consul or some other recognized official of the country of registry.

27. Completion of each employment agreement has to be certified by the employer.  No payment of the incentive or any part thereof will be made to sea service of an uncompleted employment agreement.  Marine Department will accept applicants with uncompleted agreement for the award of incentive if the agreement is terminated by mutual agreement between the company and the applicant and the reasons for the termination are not due to the dissatisfaction of performance of the applicant.

28. Applicant must submit a written notification of joining a ship with the term of contract to Marine Department (fax: 2541 6754 or email: sasmcrt@mardep.gov.hk) before joining the ship.  Only sea-service commencing after the date of receipt of the notification by the Marine Department can be considered eligible for Phase 3 incentive.

Calculation of Qualifying Sea Services

29. If the eligible sea-service was not drawn up in terms of complete months, the incentive will be paid on pro-rata basis.

30. Sea service as entered in Seafarer’s Employment Registration Book will be reckoned by the calendar months, that is, the time included between any given day in any month and the preceding day of the following month, both inclusive. The number of complete months from the commencement of the period, ascertained in this way, should be computed, after which the number of odd days should be counted. The day of which the employment agreement commences, as well as that on which it terminates, should both be included, all leave of absence excluded and all odd days added together and reckoned at thirty days to the month. The followings are examples:

28 June to 4 August = 1 month 8 days
15 August to 18 October = 2 months 4 days

Enquiry

Seafarers’ Certification Section
3rd Floor, Harbour Building, 38 Pier Road, Central, Hong Kong
Tel.:   2852 3069
Fax:   2541 6754
E-mail:     sasmcrt@mardep.gov.hk


Application Form

Application for Sea-going Training Incentive Scheme – Phase 1

Application for Sea-going Training Incentive Scheme – Phase 2 and Phase 3

Information

Flowchart of Sea-going Training Incentive Scheme

Pamphlet of Sea-Going Training Incentive Scheme (Phase 1)

行业培训及发展
  >航海训练奖励计划
航海训练奖励计划
你需要 安装 Adobe Acrobat Reader Adobe Acrobat Reader 来检视和列印下列PDF格式文件

1. 航海训练奖励计划旨在鼓励香港青少年接受及完成海上训练,以发展他们未来在港口及海事支持行业的事业。

2. 根据基金的情况,奖励金将以先到先得的方式发放给成功的申请者。

3. 当该计划收到超额申请时,将以海事处收到申请的日期决定资格。

4. 航海训练奖励计划第1阶段资助由2004年4月1日起生效。

5. 航海训练奖励计划第2及第3阶段资助由2018年4月1日起生效。

6. 如申请人的回港日期(完成海上训练期最后一份雇用协议后回到香港之日期)在计划第2及第3阶段生效日期前,申请人如符合以下资格,仍可申领第2及第3阶段的奖励:

  1. 申请人于回港日期起计12个月有任何部份在生效日期或之后,并且附合所有其他申请第2阶段的资格,申请人可由本计划生效日起计,获得不多于6个月的第2阶段奖励,至申请人在上述12个月内考试考获合格 当日,或其回港日期起计12个月内最后一次参加的考试日为止。
  2. 如申请人在符合以下第14段的规定下,在取得适任证书后在船上担任实习生工作,同时该实习工作期间有任何部份在本计划生效日或之后,申请人可就生效日后的工作期间获得第3阶段的奖励。
申请

7. 申请表格应以正本大楷填写。

8. 第1阶段的申请人可于展开航海训练之前十个工作天亲自或以邮寄方式把申请交给海事处海员发证组(香港中环统一码头道38号海港政府大楼3楼)批核。申请人若正在航海途中,则可藉邮寄、传真(号码﹕2541 6754)或电邮(地址﹕:sasmcrt@mardep.gov.hk)方式一并递交申请和所有证明文件副本。在海事处收到申请当日之后展开的海事训练视为符合奖励的资格。文件正本不应邮寄给海事处海员发证组,而应在申请日期起计14个工作天之内交到该组。申请人若在申请之时为在职海上实习生,则可在雇用协议完成之后14个工作天之内递交文件正本。

9. 第2及第3阶段的申请须在完成甲板高级船员三级/轮机师三级考试所需的实习生海上训练后,参加第一次甲板高级船员三级/轮机师三级考试前,亲自向海事处海员发证组(香港中环统一码头道38号海港政府大楼3楼)提交申请。

申请资格-奖励计划第1阶段

10. 申请人必须为香港永久性居民。

11. 申请人必须为海事处认可海事训练院校的毕业生,所取得的资格须达到参加海事处所办的甲板高级船员三级/轮机师三级考试的水平。

12. 认可海事训练课程的应届毕业生若在递交申请日期之前已获聘进行航海训练,也可提出申请。

13. 申请人必须在海事处注册为海员。

14. 申请人不得获批双重福利,即不得就同一训练期获批用以鼓励认可海事训练院校毕业生接受航海实习生训练的其他类别的资助。

申请资格-奖励计划第2及第3阶段

15. 申请人已成功参加奖励计划第1阶段。

16. 申请人已成功报名参加香港海事处举办的甲板高级船员三级/轮机师三级考试,而考试将于申请人回港日期后12个月内举行。

奖励计划第1阶- 海上训练

17. 奖励计划下,实习生在个别指定受训期内每月可得政府资助6,000元,通过实习而取得应考甲板高级船员三级/轮机师三级的资格。甲板实习生和轮机实习生的培训期最长分别为18个月和12个月,海事处会于每份雇用协议完成之后直接把奖励金一笔过付给获批核的申请人。雇主须证明每份雇用协议均已完成。若实习生能考获以上所述的资格,他/她可向海事处申请退还第一次所缴交的考试费用。

18. 属在职实习生的申请人可能早已完成部分的指定受训期,因此,只有在海事处收到申请当日之后展开的实际海上训练才符合奖励的资格。

奖励计划第2阶段 – 考试准备

19. 实习生海上训练结束后,申请人成功报考海事处甲板高级船员三级/轮机师三级考试,并且考试日期在他/她的回港日期后十二个月内,即可申请奖励计划第2阶段。成功申请者在岸上准备考试期间,每月可获港币3,000元奖励,为期不超过6个月。奖励享有权将由回港日期起计至申请人在上述12个月内考试考获合格当日,或在上述12个月内最后一次参加的考试日为止。

20. 受限于以上第19段的原则,视乎申请人参加考试或考试合格的时间,奖励在其回港日期起最多分三期发放,前两期分别在第3个月和第5个月发放,第三期将在第7个月或第一次考试后支付(以较后者为准)。视乎申请人的持续资格,每期的奖励金将相等于两个月的奖励金,或在较短的情况下不足整月,将按比例计算。

21. 如果申请人在第2阶段奖励期间参加考试但未能通过,奖励将会计算至考试当日。如申请人成功在上述12个月内重考,奖励将计至在该12个月内最后一次考试日为止,但总共不超过6个月。

22. 申请人必须在回港日期后12个月内参加甲板高级船员三级/轮机师三级考试。若申请人能够提供合理理据证明未能出席是无可避免的,并且获海事处接纳为延期考试的理由,则有关时限可获延长至下一轮考试的最后一天。如果申请人无合理证据证明他/她无可避免缺席在上述12个月内参加考试,则须向政府归还已经发放给他/她的第2阶段奖励金。

奖励计划第3阶段 - 取得适任证书后在船上担任实习生工作

23. 申请人成功通过甲板高级船员三级/轮机师三级考试及从香港海事处取得甲板高级船员三级/轮机师三级适任证书后,若申请人获聘请在远洋船只上担任与该适任证书相同部门的甲板/轮机实习生,在该实习工作期间可获得每月6,000港元的奖励金。奖励金将在申请人完成每份实习雇用协议后,整笔发放,最高上限为6个月。

合资格海上服务

24. 第1阶段合资格海上服务须为申请人在船只上担任与其将考取适任证书相同部门的甲板/轮机实习生。

25. 第3阶段合资格海上服务必须是在申请人取得海事处有效的甲板高级船员三级/轮机师三级适任证书后,在远洋船只上担任与申请人适任证书相同部门的甲板部或轮机部的实习生。申请人必须从未获聘为远洋船只的高级船员。

26. 申请人须提供海员雇用登记簿及其雇主的书面证明以核实其海上服务,如服务的船只为外国船只而未能提供海员雇用登记簿记录,申请人须提供由该船只的船长或该船只注册国的领事或认可公职人员书面确认方可接纳。

27. 每份雇用协议的完成必须由雇主证明,奖励金将不会发放予未完成的雇用协议的海上服务或其任何部分。 如果合约因公司与申请人之间的相互协议而终止,而终止的原因不是由于不满申请人的表现所致,海事处将接受申请人在未完成的协议下的合资格海上服务以发放奖励金。

28. 申请人必须在上船工作前以书面通知海事处,并包括合约任期(传真: 2541 6754或电邮: sasmcrt@mardep.gov.hk)。在海事处收到上船通知后的海上服务才可被视为合符奖励计划第3阶段的资格。

计算合资格海上服务

29. 如果合资格的海上服务期并非整月,奖励金将按比例支付。

30. 海员雇用登记簿的海上服务将按历月计算,即由某一个月的某日开始至下一个月的相应日子的前一天,首尾两天计算在内。应先计算服务期间开始的完整月份数,然后计算零散的天数。雇用协议开始的日期以及协议终止的日期都应包括在内,所有假期缺席不包括在内,所有零散总计以30天计算为一个月。以下是例子:

6月28日至8月4日 = 1个月8天
8月15日至10月18日 = 2个月4天

查询

香港中环统一码头道38号海港政府大楼3楼
海员发证组
电话:2852 3069
传真:2541 6754
电邮:sasmcrt@mardep.gov.hk


申请表格

航海训练奖励计划第1阶段申请表

航海训练奖励计划第2及第3阶段申请表

资料

航海训练奖励计划流程图

航海训练奖励计划小册子(第1阶段)